Exercise: Starting Again

EXERCISE: I don’t like this word.  I even prefer not to talk about it.  Well I have committed my self to a certain exercise regimen for 30 days. May I add, this is my second time making the commitment since November and I am starting all over again. I am on day 11 and have seen some changes.  I feel better physically and mentally. I am toning muscle and my endurance has improved somewhat. Since it is my second time with the program I knew what to expect and had a level of confidence going in.  I know I can endure!

I can’t help but to think about how physical exercise parallels with  spiritual “exercises”.  Fasting, praying, obedience, meditation, submission, giving, etc. We could go on about what it takes to get rid of the fat from our lives and what it takes to function as a strong and healthy Christian.

When I am exercising I think of the time I have scheduled in my day for the activity.  I think about the importance and priority I have given it and ask myself have I also placed such importance in developing my spiritual life. I am currently asking myself  am I exercising my faith muscle by reading God’s word or reaching out to restore broken relationship(s)? I think about the suffering I endure during push-ups, sit-ups, and squats and often think about if I am using the same energy, if not more, in my spiritual growth and development.

I have full knowledge that this physical exercise will benefit me.  My heart muscle will become stronger and circulation will improve.  I also know that the physical activity I do today will benefit me as I age and become a senior citizen.  How about spiritually?  I also have knowledge that my heart and my mind will be more alert when it comes to what God wants for me.  As  I age and grow it inevitable that illnesses and trials will come and if I am exercising my prayer, faith, and fasting “muscles”. I believe I will be able to endure more so than if I had not practiced the above.

How about your exercise regimen?  Have you found the program God has for you?  Do you know what works to keep you spiritually lean, toned, and healthy.

Have confidence; exercise by walking with God as I am learning to do.

I could go on, but if you like me have for any reason, veered off the path, took or break, or experienced one of life’s distractions or interruptions to your spiritual walk, take my advice and start all over again.  God will meet you there, try not to get bent out of shape or frustrated just start again.  Start praying. Search the scriptures and start reading.  Do what you need to do at your own pace to build up your relationship with Christ.  Put you hand in His and start walking.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

~Matthew 11:28-30

About T.Michelle Miller

I am a born again believer in Jesus Christ my savior and Lord. I am one wife to one husband and mother of two. I enjoy abundant life, watching movies, going to the beach, biking and laughing with my family! I have finally begun my writing journey.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, God's Glory, My walk with Jesus, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

