A Happy New Year?

Welcome to 2013.  This year has ushered in more questions than answers for me as I think on the state of the African-American woman and her family.  I have knowledge of increasing amounts of friends and family who have or are currently contemplating divorce.  Many loved ones are turning away from the faith or faith practices that they once proclaimed in Christ and in some cases have gone back to the sin that had them “caught up”.  Those who have had marriages that I admired and were seemingly stable with years of bonding are now falling apart.  Even some Titus 2 women, whom  I considered to be strong & wise, as kind as they are, mature “mothers” (older than 55) are now out at the clubs. I am not judging by thinking of myself more higher than I ought but I am thinking … I am questioning… “why” and why NOW? Why are some of those “steadfast” “always there” no longer serving or going to church at all? Most importantly are they still walking/growing in Christ?  I am perplexed about these actions that may signify a change in their beliefs about God or is it something else? I personally want to go forward in my walk and not back.

My questions usually lead me to take a self inventory.  I can’t afford to have my nose in the air.  I have to ask questions (which I don’t necessarily want to ask or answer) and seek God’s word and not my opinion to evaluate my growth.

  • What am I doing now to improve my relationship with God? What are my failings and temptations? Who holds me accountable and tells me the truth when I blow it?
  • Do I have any commitment issues in any areas (may it be with my spouse, bible study, keeping promises or other commitments)?
  • Am I honest with myself and others (especially in a congregational setting)? What are my motives?

I want to be found faithful when I am called home to heaven. This is one of the most wonderful attributes of God that I appreciate. His faithfulness and gracious dealings with unfaithful children, as myself. I can encourage others to follow God and His word, but it appears that so many have a mind not to. Christ is the remedy to our sinful nature and is powerful to give salvation, hope and help for us to lead Holy lives.  I believe that. 

Happy New Year!  Have you started your evaluation?

Christ is the remedy. Let us pray for marriages and families.

About T.Michelle Miller

I am a born again believer in Jesus Christ my savior and Lord. I am one wife to one husband and mother of two. I enjoy abundant life, watching movies, going to the beach, biking and laughing with my family! I have finally begun my writing journey.
This entry was posted in African American Woman, Christianity and the African American Family, Family, God's Glory, Husbands and Wives, My walk with Jesus, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Happy New Year?

  1. Pam says:

    Tks 4 reminder of the self evaluation.

Leave a Reply

