What Is Your Story?

“Let every heart prepare Him room…and heaven and nature sing”

I wrote down an account of my salvation experience, for what reason I don’t recall it could have been for a class, evangelistic message. or I just wanted to get it on paper.  This is record of an experience that was great that no one can say did or does not exist and no one can take it away because I was there in my story experience.

As we make room for Jesus this season by evaluating ourselves, our walk with Him, and relationships with others.  I’d like for you to consider revisiting your initial salvation experience, write it down or share it with someone, no one can tell the story like you can.

Let me introduce myself…

I was born and grew up in St. Paul Minnesota. At the age of 5 my parents went through a divorce and I was an audience of one, though at the time I had a baby sister. My mom with all her strength and wisdom did the best she could to raise us. My grandparents played a great role in making sure we went to church (which was right across the street) but I always had a choice. I had limited rules to live by. I found it hard to make friends as I became a teen and felt lonely and odd. I was mad at my daddy, mad at my mommy, and didn’t like the life that I had. I was mad cause my clothes came from the thrift store and upset because I wasn’t able to go to the private schools some of the other girls went to at church.

I dealt with several issues about my image, my big eyes and skinny body for example and hoped to gain the attention of boys and men. In 9th grade ran with a crowd of girls way to “fast” for me. (Summer of 92 moved to TX as I believe set up by God) Some of those old friends got addicted to crack and angel dust I’ve heard… In high school continued to do as I pleased I had no curfew, I respected, and kicked it with “my man” whenever I chose. Although I had such freedom I still felt shallow, inadequate, and knew I was not living up to God’s standard by having sex outside of Holy matrimony. I went off to college to get away and continue to do my own thang. I was posing as a “good girl” and it was all a “front”.  All the while God was talking (rebuking and correcting) because He knew me and I knew Him.

At a choir banquet in February 1998 the speaker’s words convicted me told me to get out of bed with my boyfriend and give myself totally to God. God’s word revealed to me that he was not pleased with my worship of a man over Him. I joined a church in Denton, Texas and went through new membership orientation with Rev. James Kelly and God’s word. The Gospel spoke to me, it was like I had never heard it before. I had been to church most of my life I knew “Jesus Loves me” but never got it, I guess.

I learned: Rom 3:23, “All have sinned and fallen short of the Glory of God.” Sin separates us from God. Romans 5:8, “While we were yet sinners Chris died for us”. I was mesmerized by the well-known, John 3:16, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only son, Jesus.” Romans 10:9, “If we confess with our mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in our heart God raised him from the dead you will be saved.”  I really did it this time, I understood, with God’s help through His Spirit.  I was baptized again not because I had to be…but now understood the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Since I have given my life to Christ I have not become perfect but I am in relationship with God, who is…Perfect. I have a restored relationship with Him through Jesus Christ. I still struggle with some anger issues and just recently begun to deal with issues with unforgiveness towards many family members. God is taking me through a process. I have joy knowing that I am on this journey with Him and know without a doubt that if I would die today I would go to live eternally with the Almighty God. Not because I have been so good, not because I go to church on Sundays, or have been so faithful. It’s is all about HIS grace and faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. My life is blessed I have a husband who seeks after the Lord and two beautiful and “interesting” children. I am maturing and growing, learning new things daily. I hope for a closer relationship with my father and salvation for my kinsfolk.

I know hard times are still ahead but I choose to stand on the True Rock Jesus.

Where are you standing?

What’s your story? Include your 1)Life before Christ, 2) How you met Him, and 3) Your Life with Him now.

About T.Michelle Miller

I am a born again believer in Jesus Christ my savior and Lord. I am one wife to one husband and mother of two. I enjoy abundant life, watching movies, going to the beach, biking and laughing with my family! I have finally begun my writing journey.
This entry was posted in Devotion, My walk with Jesus, Sexual Sin and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

