If you liked the “At The Dinner Table Talk” you will LOVE “At The Breakfast Table”

So this is how it went down…

We have been searching for a new home after being relocated to another state.  Our children have fully experienced the home selling process.  The showings, talk of offers, buyers earnest money, and agents to my surprise they have been listening all this time!

Well this morning at the breakfast table the 11 year old asks about shortsales, “Mom, What is a shortsale?”, I answer it’s when when the bank allows you to sell the home at a price which is less than the amount that you owe(mortgage).  I told her the difference may be forgiven by the bank,or as I put it (they may let it slide) which means that you can avoid foreclosure but your credit may get, as I called it, “jacked up”. The 6 year old then asked, “What is a foreclosure?”….it begins to get deep here.   I attempted to break this down to a first grade level by explaining,  “Son if the people can’t make payment on the house maybe due to job loss, illness, or maybe just not making enough money to pay the bill they could get kicked out of their homes and their house it taken away and sometime their things get set on the curb.” I gave it to him quick and dirty which resulted in, to my surprise, TEARS! I couldn’t believe it this dude was crying!!!! Big ole’ Florida crocodile tears! While a very serious subject, my first inclination was to bust out laughing….but no… I didn’t. I held it in and the 11 yr old didn’t help, as she used her natural ability and “Mean Girls Spirit” to mock him behind his back.  This dude was sincere, crying because “the people get kicked out of their house and they don’t have a place to live”, at that I had to check myself and comfort him, not to mention the fact that it wasn’t even 7:00 am yet!

I told him that there is a possibility for them to find other places to live, maybe even an apartment and overtime they can buy a new home hopefully.  His tears slowed I felt better but then I was like… man this guy cares more than I do right now.  I was, however, proud of him; the way he showed concerned. I even thought for a second that I could pat my husband and myself on the back for raising a super boy child who is compassionate and can empathize with the plight of others.  However that thought was quickly nixed when I recalled the scripture that said the Kingdom of God is such as these….these being and meaning children. Clarke’s commentary states:,

A great part of God’s kingdom is composed of such literally; and those only who resemble little children shall be received into it: see on Matthew 18:3* Christ loves little children because he loves simplicity and innocence; he has sanctified their very age by passing through it himself – the holy Jesus was once a little child.

I realize there are those who respect Jesus to be a man and great figure and wise historical teacher of the past. I could acknowledge and counter Bible/Jesus skeptics who question the virgin birth and resurrection from the dead, both outer worldly instances, which are the crux of my belief system – the one we have chose to raise our children in. I don’t have to instead I will praise God for Jesus’s truth that children in their innocence and purity can show humility- unintentionally.  My son could empathize with the foreclosure scenario not because I taught it to him, he fully understood mortgage loans and obligations, or he totally does not have selfish desires, but because his heart can feel.  It’s not complicated … adults can make it that way.  The Bible teaches that “hardened heart” is often self centered, full of pride and ignores God. I could go into a long monologue here about the heart like guarding it , cleansing it, who/what to give it to… but no time today.  I’ll just sum it up like this thanks for the lesson today little guy:)!

*Matthew 18:3 And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

About T.Michelle Miller

I am a born again believer in Jesus Christ my savior and Lord. I am one wife to one husband and mother of two. I enjoy abundant life, watching movies, going to the beach, biking and laughing with my family! I have finally begun my writing journey.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Children, compassion, Discussions with children, Family, God's Creation, God's Glory, My walk with Jesus, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

