Where is the African American Family? Does anyone care about the African American Woman?

I can’t find you? Where are you? Images….text….pod-casts nothing.  I am looking for information about the African American family on the web and I am not finding what I am looking for as a 30 something married mother of two.  I cannot find positive images, encouraging and affirming articles on real marriages, or NOT EVEN podcast with a “happily” or this is  a better word “contented”  African-American married couple discussing their life journey.  Why is that?  Am I looking in the wrong places? Well I intend to find out.  Is this not important? Am I the only one who feel that the African American woman and her family (husband, sons and daughters) are in crisis? Why do I have so many questions about “her” (African American Woman)? Does anyone care that  according to the Center for Disease Control:

In 2009 black women accounted for 30% of the estimated new HIV infections among all blacks. Most (85%) black women with HIV acquired HIV through heterosexual sex. The estimated rate of new HIV infections for black women was more than 15 times as high as the rate for white women, and more than three times as high as that of Latina women.

Well I do. We must be sleeping because I do not hear the sirens and bells going off from the outside but I do hear them internally.

As a woman created in God’s image and created for his Glory he has called me to share the good news of Christ. The African American Woman has a Christian history that cannot be ignored, forgotten, or disregarded.  She now more than ever, needs to hold on to her family and stand firm on her faith.

We have been called to repent of out sins and become new creatures. There is good news for “her” if she can open up allow God’s grace to hold her.  There is a love story she either has forgotten, does not know about or does not completely understand.

I came across and article on about.com where a woman asked about why Christ had to die? The writer’s answer resonates with the Christian and is good news for all including “her”.

In Summary, when we are “in Christ Jesus” we are covered by his blood through his sacrificial death, our sins are paid for, and we no longer have to die an eternal death. We receive eternal life though Jesus Christ. And this is why Jesus had to die. ~Mary Fairchild

About T.Michelle Miller

I am a born again believer in Jesus Christ my savior and Lord. I am one wife to one husband and mother of two. I enjoy abundant life, watching movies, going to the beach, biking and laughing with my family! I have finally begun my writing journey.
This entry was posted in African American Woman, Christianity and the African American Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where is the African American Family? Does anyone care about the African American Woman?

  1. lori says:

    hi. i am a grad student at Rutgers University School of Social Work. I have to do a project about the African American family and began by googling… your blog came up and it brought tears to my eyes. i am finding the same thing, and indeed, sirens are going off within me! thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

